Walking the Unbeaten Path

So, I may or may have not gotten a bit fired up about the new year. Just some stuff happened, and keeps happening, that gave me hope towards this year and reignited a dying flame within me.

And if any year would be the year to kick fear in the butt, this would be it.

If something scares you, you probably need to do it. Be honest in love, risk looking silly, and whatever else God has called you to. Just do it before you talk yourself out of it.

There’s a difference between being realistic and being hopeless and I was teetering too much on the side of hopelessness.

“How’s this going to happen?”

“How’s this all going to work out?”

It was paralyzing me. I had forgotten that God works in mysterious ways and that we need hope and faith for what we don’t yet see, know, or understand.

I don’t know about all of you, but I’m tired of running around in circles choosing to live a life or mediocrity. It’s easy to blame it on your situation, your family, friends, lack of money or time, or whatever else. It’s hard, however, to look yourself in the mirror and own up to your own lack of integrity or responsibility to yourself, and more importantly God, for the things He has put you in charge of: your gifts, talents, and calling.

This is the year where I do the scary things, no matter how much I suck at them. I’ve already started in fact. I faced my fear of posting on social media and have begun monthly challenges in order to get myself creating again. This is the year to risk everything (and that goes far beyond money), not to impress anyone or out of desperation, but because I’m tired of being afraid of life itself and what people might think of me.

I can’t fly if I never step off the cliff. I’m a child of God. I already am connected to everything I’ll ever need – Father God. He know’s all that I’ll need ahead of time and how to provide for what He’s told me to do. I just need the faith to put my puzzle together with the pieces He’s already given me.

This year I’m going after honesty and self-love in my life. It’s hard to care for yourself if you can’t even be honest with yourself and not pretend to be doing well when you aren’t, or just let people walk over you in order to keep the peace. I started this journey a little over a year ago and I want to share some hope for anyone who can relate to anything I’ve been going through.

Feel free to join me in walking towards a new definition of success and freedom in my and in yours for this year. 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Walking the Unbeaten Path

  1. I’m so proud of you, Ebony! Thanks for sharing – and may God fill you with the courage to stand, and take the next step, and the grace to minister life and peace to every person you encounter along the journey.
    Love, Diane 🙏🏻🤗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

