Think Big

So I was going through my old documents on my USB and I found some old goals and this essay for a scholarship for the Buffalo Soldiers. It surprised me to see how powerful this was. (I’m not tooting my own horn, I’m just finally seeing where I’ve grown.) So here’s the essay and I’m going to expand a little on this afterward:

 

 

                                               Life Aspirations
I went to a conference once where a speaker said that true success is when you have gotten to the point where you can give back what you’ve received. I believe that this is the perfect description of success to aspire towards.
As a young African-American woman, my heart goes out to those who are in bondage (regardless of race or gender). The sex trade, abuse (in general), and abortion are things that I want to help in the fight to end. On the other hand, there are things that also need our attention to fight for such as helping broken homes and veterans. As well as in various countries around the world, I have a problem with governments that will not help their people or let their people be helped – not by other governments – rather by private communities and organizations. I would love to be an ambassador of sorts and lend a hand in that way.
I do not stand for hubris, but I do stand for healthy confidence. It is not about materials or what your peers think of you. It is truly something that you must cultivate for yourself. All the Buffalo soldiers and their families wanted to be treated as equal people and not as the scum of the earth. They fought for the right to be human. I fight for the right to believe and to live.
After I graduate from college and whatever other paths of education I follow in the future I wish to travel abroad and experience the world – which includes working on my multi-language studies – to build bridges between cultures and individuals. Career-wise, I am planning to start my own illustration business and continue my writing.
I enjoy reading and in recent times dystopian stories have become very popular. When you see the governments and ideas in some of these stories you can see that some of them meant well, but that it ended up doing more harm than good. While they may be fiction and taking things to the extreme, even in real life there are many of us who have had good intentions but our final product was motivated by the wrong things: fear, hatred, etc. I wish to try to help this generation move forward, rather than backward. I hear about the childhoods from my parent’s time and their friends and I have to say that I wish to help change the world so that the next generations can say, “I am glad we have it better, “ instead of, “You know, things used to be better.” All this stuff takes us, the average humans and citizens taking a stand for what is right and not sitting back in the cubicles of society. The Buffalo soldiers made their changes little by little and see what has happened to the freedoms of races today – though yes I acknowledge we still have a ways to go – but we can still make a change.
“Reach high for stars lie hidden in your soul. Dream deep for every dream precedes the goal.”
~ Paul V. Starr

 

I wrote this almost 2 years ago and it’s one of my favorite writing pieces that I’ve written due to the fact that I took a step and wrote about issues and shared it, not just keeping it to myself. It showed how far I’d come as a writer and stands as a diving board and motivation to keep writing.

Not everything has gone to plan, but I’m not giving up. I still want to stand as a voice for those who can’t yet speak for themselves. If anything, I’ve either gotten a better grip for my convictions or seen them in a different light.

It inspires me and reminds me of my dreams and goals; encouraging me to keep setting the bar higher and higher.

As far as how I’m getting there…I haven’t figured all of that out yet. Currently, I’m writing and making art about issues and things close to my heart – including mentioning my many blunders. I don’t know about you, but I appreciate when I see that people aren’t perfect and can learn from their own mistakes and own it. For me, sometimes it’s as simple admitting I’m a mess. I’ve spent so much time trying to be perfect, that I’ve forgotten how to be real.

As much as I hate to admit it, real life is pretty messy. I can be stubborn, foolish, and well-meaning, yet totally wrong. I’ve spent so much time trying to get out of my mistakes that I’ve refused to learn from them, getting stuck on a hamster wheel that does seem to stop spinning.

I hope not everyone has to deal with that. We were all made for better than that. Everyone was made for greatness.

 

_________________________________________________________________

I don’t know who reads this blog, but I hope that this could inspire you to seek your own dreams and set your own paths to getting there. Feel free to leave a comment about some of your own aspirations whether past or present and what kinds of steps you’re taking to reach them.

 

Leave a Reply

