Re: Resistance is Futile

So I guess I should explain the background of exactly what this about.

This particular category is based on one of my journaling sessions after reading “The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield and “The Miracle Morning” by Hal Elrod.

It really made me think about what ways I was letting resistance win in my life.When I say “resistance” I mean that feeling you get when you know you should be doing something (starting that business, going after that relationship, making that art, writing that book, etc. basically a personal call to do anything of value – which everyone has faced) but you don’t. You stay at the horrible job instead of trying for something outside of your comfort zone. You don’t sing because of reasons. Your computer is used for searching up Pinterest photos of “how to write the perfect novel” instead of sitting your butt down and just writing the book. (I’m very much guilty of the last one. Or pinning “reference photos” that I’ll never use.)

Basically, anytime we let time slip through our hands and let our dreams sit on the shelf instead of making ourselves just do it.

I began to question many areas of my life where I was living a life of mediocrity. Why wasn’t I writing? Why did my paint brush feel too heavy to pick up? Why was my heart more grieved at the thought of doing what I said I love most than excited to use the gifts given to me?

This is my journey if you will, of me questioning my life and choices and even possibly getting to the roots of my “whys and why not’s”. I’m challenging my norm, and to be frank, it’s a pain in the butt to pull myself out of the muck that I’ve been in. These are things, that might be simple for others, but for me right now they feel like an uphill battle. And that’s okay. I’m moving forward, or upward. Whatever. I can admit that I’ve fallen much more than I’ve would have liked, but that’s a part of growth. Knowing that you don’t have it all together.

Here’s to all the other recovering perfectionists out there. May that cease to be a part of our identities any longer!

Leave a Reply

