Maturity Before Age

….Where do I start?

 

“Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional.” Chili Davis

So I maybe now starting to get a hang on this topsy-turvy thing called “the adult life”. Just a little, not really, but I hoping I’m improving. The quirks and wrinkles will be there for quite a while longer I should think, but that’s okay. I have one year under my belt and I consider that a success. I’m definitely not the same person I was 7 months ago. Or even a day ago. That is, probably not the secret of, more like one of the ingredients of success. Asking yourself each day, “Have I grown today intentionally and how?”

 

“The creative adult is the child who survived.” Ursula Leguin

Can I be frank for just a moment? I’m naturally a dreamer in a world of realists. In a way society’s definition of what it means to be an adult has always sounded like a metaphorical death sentence to me. I mean I can do it. I can become it. Put yourself in another’s shoes for long enough and you can convince others you’re right for the part but internally you must make that character yours somehow. I must admit we (humanity) are improving on letting everyone’s strengths come through… and honestly I have no idea where I was going with this. I’m not whining. I don’t mind logistics so much, but it did have to come from some where didn’t it? I’m not trying to rant. I just feel like everyone else gets this adult thing a lot better (or at least is good at wearing the costume and fooling the audience). What does it mean to be an adult that’s so different from youth? The job? The house? The hours spent in service to others?

I’m genuinely curious to see what people have to say about what adulthood feels like to them. The definition and such (comment if you like).

Sorry if my thoughts seem scattered. My brain feels like a record player sometimes — jumping from song to song and the occasional scratch as we head to the next one. Or maybe a rabbit trail might be more accurate… I don’t know.

 

“A man knows when he is growing old because he begins to look like his father.” Gabriel Garcia Marquez

As you age, you begin to look in the mirror (externally and internally) and see your ancestors and environments more and more. I used to blame my parents and older generations for things that have affected me now, but that’s stupid. I would shake my fists at the historical figures of yesterday for the snowball effect in today’s problems. It’s true that whatever the former generations haven’t dealt with gets passed down to future generations, and that is their fault for not dealing with it. The new generation is the product, after all of whatever has gone on, whether positive or negative, from those before it, and yet… We the choosers of our own destinies and what we do with what we’ve been given. We don’t have to be the product of our environments, whether good or bad. If some one hands you an apple you get to choose to eat it to make your body healthy or not, and conversely if some one hands you and syringe of poison you have the choice of whether or not to take it.

 

—-

I re-watched Kung Fu Panda 1 and saw the 3rd film for the first time a while ago. It had many spiritual, family, identity, etc. themes… I find it hilarious how some people tend to think that God only shows up around anything with the label “Christian” slapped on it. Nah. He’ll speak to us in anyway that we’ll hear Him and plenty that force us out of our comfort zones to find Him. He’s awesome that way. 🙂

 

A friend shared this quote with me and I would say that it represents me pretty accurately. So I’ll leave this right here.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are younot to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” Marianne Williamson

Leave a Reply

